Fla rips into Quinny

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Fla rips into Quinny

Speaking on Sportsjoe.ie podcast The Hard Yards, Jerry Flannery launched a stinging attack on his former team mate Alan Quinlan. Flannery was reacting to Quinlan's criticism of Munster's recent performance v Zebre. Quinlan was covering the game for Sky Sports.

Here's an extract from Flannery's remarks:-

"It didn't seem like he had because when people relayed the comments back to me, I just went, 'This doesn't make sense'.

"I understand that people will come out and give their opinion but their opinion should be based on something. If it's not based on preparation, well then they're actually not doing their job and they
    should not be getting paid for it, in my opinion.
    "Like, if I don't do my work as a coach I'm going to get sacked.
    "If, for instance, Sky think that it's deemed credible that if someone has just played for a club that they can go out and just give their opinion without doing any work, well, they're kind of cheating the viewers. People are paying for their subscription to watch it and they want to get some sort of analysis or... if they're not getting it then there is a breakdown there."
    Flannery insisted this was not a personal attack and acknowledged Quinlan was called up late to cover the game. But couldn’t resist a parting jibe about Quinlan’s other TV work.
    Flannery said: "Look, sometimes it can be irritating when guys that were part of the club are doing that, you know. I don't know whether they see it as sort of an attachment to their time at the club or don't want to see the club move forward because then they're not seen in the same standing that they might have been... but that's a poor mindset to have, for my opinion."
    "But, look, Quinny was very good on Ireland's Fittest Family. He's good at that stuff."

This is quite shocking IMO.