Coaching Under 7s

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Coaching Under 7s

I coach at Under 7s in Blackrock in Dublin, because the young lad loves it and I'd prefer to be on the pitch rather than watching from the sidelines! Anyway, I'm a really crap coach, but want to try and get better.

I've been really impressed by resources like this:
    https://www.coachingtoolbox.co.nz/tr...coaching-plans

But we don't have anything similar on any of the Irish rugby sites. Most of the time I'm trying to make sure that everyone is included and having fun, but not sure I am doing much to improve their rugby skills.

Anyone know if there are meaningful coaching materials for coaching in Ireland?

Thanks!
    Believe.

I'd say you've already found the best site there is right there. Inclusion and fun aren't to be sniffed at either - skills development at Under 7 is a slow process.

At that age, I'd let them spend some time in non-rugby games too - dodge ball, stuck in the mud, bulldog with tags. They're still developing hand eye co-ordination, motor skills and all the rest.

If you aim to build kids from that age who can run, evade, catch, change direction and all of that stuff then you're doing grand.
    "We will not walk in fear, one of another. We will not be driven into an age of unreason if we dig deep into our history and remember we are not descended from fearful men" Edward R Murrow

"Little by little, we have been brought into the present condition in which we are able neither to tolerate the evils from which we suffer, nor the remedies we need to cure them." - Livy

"I think that progress has been made by two flames that have always been burning in the human heart. The flame of anger against injustice and the flame of hope that you can build a better world" - Tony Benn

Comment