Christmas Reads

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Christmas Reads

Just got a present of On The Shoulders Of Giants by S. Hawkings. Browsing through it I reckon I'll be finished it by the next Big Bang. Too much calculus under the bridge I'm afraid. Anyone any idea how to tackle it? When is the Beano Annual out?

I'm reading a lot of Jared Diamond at the moment. Fascinating stuff.
    Kiva - Loans That Change Lives

Comment

I started reading "The last days of Socrates". To my eternal shame I have not progressed past the introduction.

Comment

It takes a while MIG. I studied it in Philosophy in first year

Comment

Originally posted by mullet is gone
          I started reading "The last days of Socrates". To my eternal shame I have not progressed past the introduction.

Don't bother. He dies anyway.
          "We will not walk in fear, one of another. We will not be driven into an age of unreason if we dig deep into our history and remember we are not descended from fearful men" Edward R Murrow

"Little by little, we have been brought into the present condition in which we are able neither to tolerate the evils from which we suffer, nor the remedies we need to cure them." - Livy

"I think that progress has been made by two flames that have always been burning in the human heart. The flame of anger against injustice and the flame of hope that you can build a better world" - Tony Benn

Comment

Originally posted by dipstick
            Just got a present of On The Shoulders Of Giants by S. Hawkings. Browsing through it I reckon I'll be finished it by the next Big Bang. Too much calculus under the bridge I'm afraid. Anyone any idea how to tackle it? When is the Beano Annual out?

Are you mad man? You're not supposed to read them. Even he doesn't know what they mean. They're for putting on your bookshelf for when you bring a bird back to show her your etchings, next to War and Peace and The Female Eunuch.