Back to School???

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Back to School???

I’ve been thinking about improving my academic qualifications for some time now. Like many, I was easily distracted throughout my school college years and under achieved on my potential in education. I left college in 1998 with a national certificate in the sciences and moved to the UK where I immediately gained employment in a QC role which put some of my knowledge to good use. Over the years I’ve improved my lot via a combination of hard work and experience but working in a technical environment (R&D of FMCG’s) I’ve found that experience will only count for so much and there’s only so far you can go before you bump your head on the glass ceiling. If I’m to improve my position/earning power, further academic qualification are a necessity. I have an industry-specific qualification, a diploma which I studied for through distance learning but ideally I’d like to at least gain a degree. As my educational background is mostly in Biology then a biology degree would be the “easy” option for me (and will give me the all-important BSc on my business card) but my employment history is exclusively in chemistry and this would be the more relevant qualification.