Studying Part-time for a degree

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Studying Part-time for a degree

I was wondering if anybody has had any experience with studying part-time for a degree or knows somebody who has done it?

When I was in school I was stupid enough to not study for the leaving cert. and although I still got a respectable score for someone who didn't do a tap of work, I didn't get my college course back then and I went off and farted my way through another college while again, avoiding any work. I got my(pretty worthless to be frank) diploma and now work in a field that is completely unrelated to what I studied.

Am 24 now(so qualify as a mature student as far as I'm aware) so the leaving cert doesn't play such a big part in getting a college course as far as I know.

I'm not in a position to stop working or only work part-time so it appears that part time study is my only choice. My main question really is... is it worth it? Are the degrees worth anything?

I'm looking to go for a degree in computer science and CIT seems to have some options for me in that route but really I'm wondering, are part-time degrees even recognised anywhere?

I know someone who just completed his part time degree and immediately got a years work in Brussels so can't be totally worthless but I'm still trying to determine if it's going to be worth the time and effort

Kevy it really depends on what the course is. I've two done different part-time degrees in last 12 years or so, and they've helped me progress at work. I already have a full time degree from way back when too.

When we've hired people at work we look at their relevant qualifications and experience, whether the degree was part- or full-time isn't really a factor in my experience.
    "There are a lot of points that we’ve left behind and this is with a young group. That probably tells you what they’re capable of and that they’re a very good side.