No announcement yet.

Scotland Churchill Cup Squad

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    Scotland Churchill Cup Squad

    Simon Webster has been named in the Scotland A squad for this summer's Churchill Cup in a bid to build up his fitness ahead of the World Cup.

    Injury reduced the Edinburgh winger to just one appearance as a replacement during the 2007 Six Nations.

    Rory Lamont, Phil Godman, Johnnie Beattie, Craig Smith, Stuart Grimes, Graeme Morrison, Scott Lawson and Ben MacDougall are also in the A squad.

    But Scotland captain Jason White will not be fit enough to take part. <!- E SF ->

    White will continue his rehab from a cruciate ligament injury sustained in November.

    Scotland head coach Frank Hadden has named a 37-man squad for the tournament in England.

    The pool will be trimmed to 28 before the Scots open against the USA at Henley on 23 May.

    Scotland, who lost to New Zealand Maori in last year's final, face England Saxons at Twickenham five days later in their other pool game.

    Hadden said: "Most of the players who featured throughout the Six Nations Championship will be involved in extensive fitness and conditioning work over the summer.

    "But for the players involved in the Churchill Cup, there are two challenges.

    "One, to win international rugby matches for their country in a very tough environment and secondly to demonstrate their readiness for consideration of a place in the World Cup squad.

    "It will be good to see the likes of Scott Lawson, Craig Smith, Ben MacDougall and Simon Webster back on the field.

    "Although two of our other injured internationalists, Jason White and Mike Blair are making good progress from knee and shoulder injuries respectively, the tournament comes just too early for them at this stage of their rehabilitation."


    Provisional Scotland A squad for Barclays Churchill Cup:

    Backs: Ben Cairns (Edinburgh), Simon Danielli (Border Reivers), Nick De Luca (Border Reivers), Lee Dickson (Newcastle), Thom Evans (Glasgow), Phil Godman (Edinburgh), Colin Gregor (Glasgow), Robbie Kydd (Northampton Saints), Rory Lamont (Glasgow), Ben MacDougall (Border Reivers), Calum MacRae (Border Reivers), Mark McMillan (London Wasps), Graeme Morrison (Glasgow), Gordon Ross (Castres) and Simon Webster (Edinburgh).

    Forwards: John Barclay (Glasgow), Johnnie Beattie (Glasgow), Alasdair Dickinson (Edinburgh),Bruce Douglas (Border Reivers), Iain Fullarton (Saracens), Ryan Grant (Border Reivers), Scott Gray (Border Reivers), Stuart Grimes (Border Reivers), Andrew Hall (Newport Gwent Dragons), Craig Hamilton (Border Reivers), Ed Kalman (Border Reivers), Andrew Kelly (Edinburgh), Scott Lawson (Glasgow), Moray Low (Glasgow), Donnie Macfadyen (Glasgow), Andy Miller (Border Reivers), Mark Rennie (Bourgoin), Ross Rennie (Edinburgh), Craig Smith (Edinburgh), Alasdair Strokosch (Edinburgh), Steve Swindall (Glasgow) and Fergus Thomson (Glasgow).
    Shaqtastic...29 points

    That's going to be a lot stronger than the Churchill Cup squad we'll have.
    Kiva - Loans That Change Lives