Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Website Help

  1. #1
    Munster Praetorian Guard Beckinder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom

    Website Help

    This is probably a dumb question but how can you tell if a website is legit? I want a Mulberry bag and have found a website that sells them incredibly cheap but I am not sure if it is a fake site. Can anyone offer me some guidance please

    Oh here is the website:

    http://www.mulberryfactory2012.co.uk/

    I assume you you still allowed to post links?
    "Why am I so rubbish at life?" Quote from a Saints fan in Shannon Airport 11/04/2010

    Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of the day...Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life :-)

  2. #2

    Re: Website Help

    It's probably two seperate questions Becks.

    Is the website legit? Looks that way to me.

    Are the products it sells legit? That's the real question.

    Id have a google around ... Ie enter the website and then something like fake or legit and you should get your answer.
    “Do not repeat the tactics which have gained you one victory, but let your methods be regulated by the infinite variety of circumstances.”

  3. #3
    Mayor of Chilli Town joeriddick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Returning Some Videotapes
    Quote Originally Posted by Beckinder View Post
    This is probably a dumb question but how can you tell if a website is legit? I want a Mulberry bag and have found a website that sells them incredibly cheap but I am not sure if it is a fake site. Can anyone offer me some guidance please

    Oh here is the website:

    http://www.mulberryfactory2012.co.uk/

    I assume you you still allowed to post links?
    The fact they don't have a contact number and accept Western Union cash payments would make me a bit suspicious to be honest.

    Also, the comapny seem to be based in China which means the likelihood that these are fakes are quite high and if you get caught it'll be impossible to get your cash back.
    Last edited by joeriddick; 23rd-September-2012 at 15:46.
    To The Brave and the Faithful, Nothing is Unpublishable.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to joeriddick For This Useful Post:


  5. #4

    Website Help

    Uk.theshoppingassistant.com

  6. #5
    More than likely a dodgy site. First thing always is to look up the domain name on something like domaintools.com . Can tell quite a bit of information about the site, it's owners and where it's hosted. For example, the url you posted above is registered to:

    Registrant: Mingfang Cheng

    Registrant's address: No.568 nanjing Rd., Wuxi, Jiangsu, 240010, China

    and the website is hosted on the cheapest of hosting servers.

    From this info alone we could safely say this is a scam site. Why would a worldwide known and renowned company register as cheapo site with godaddy, host it in the US, register it from China and make it look like it's based in the UK. Steer Clear is my advice

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Rolled.Stoned For This Useful Post:


  8. #6
    Munster Praetorian Guard ~Cat~'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    England
    Quote Originally Posted by Beckinder View Post
    This is probably a dumb question but how can you tell if a website is legit? I want a Mulberry bag and have found a website that sells them incredibly cheap but I am not sure if it is a fake site. Can anyone offer me some guidance please

    Oh here is the website:

    http://www.mulberryfactory2012.co.uk/

    I assume you you still allowed to post links?
    Becks, the Mulberry factory and outlet shop is a few miles from here, we sometimes pop in and have a laugh at the "reduced" prices. I'd hazard a guess that the site you found is selling knock offs at best. Sorry. Let me know if you want anything from the shop though, they do a really nice afternoon tea!

  9. #7
    My name is Mandy and I live with my mom! i_like_cake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    By the Bar....
    haha.... munsterfans..... this thread is brill....

    (if i could help, i would...).....
    He was as lame as a duck. Not the metaphorical lame duck either, but a real duck that was actually lame. Maybe from stepping on a land mine or something.

  10. #8
    In the Departure Lounge Old Dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Hy-brassil
    Quote Originally Posted by ~Cat~ View Post
    Becks, the Mulberry factory and outlet shop is a few miles from here, we sometimes pop in and have a laugh at the "reduced" prices. I'd hazard a guess that the site you found is selling knock offs at best. Sorry. Let me know if you want anything from the shop though, they do a really nice afternoon tea!
    I'll have a large latte and a blueberry muffin, please.

  11. #9
    Leader of the Red Hordes FORWARD....'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Ireland
    Quote Originally Posted by Rolled.Stoned View Post
    More than likely a dodgy site. First thing always is to look up the domain name on something like domaintools.com . Can tell quite a bit of information about the site, it's owners and where it's hosted. For example, the url you posted above is registered to:

    Registrant: Mingfang Cheng

    Registrant's address: No.568 nanjing Rd., Wuxi, Jiangsu, 240010, China

    and the website is hosted on the cheapest of hosting servers.

    From this info alone we could safely say this is a scam site. Why would a worldwide known and renowned company register as cheapo site with godaddy, host it in the US, register it from China and make it look like it's based in the UK. Steer Clear is my advice
    This is the most helpful post.
    Never mind perception because it isn’t real. It’s only what people think. Go out and make them think something else. Alan Quinlan Irish Times April 24th 2013

  12. #10
    Leader of the Red Hordes Dowlinz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    The URL has been spammed on a few places before, probably adbotted which is usually associated with dodgy sites. Spammed along with a few other sites selling the same things so they're maybe all the same group of people even though they're registered to different people (one of them chinese)

    http://www.mulberryservice.co.uk/
    http://www.mulberryoutletyorksale.com/
    http://mulberrysaleoutletuk.webeden.co.uk/
    http://www.mulberrysaleoutletbags.com/

    The fact that the site you linked has some spelling errors and just general strangeness like not asking your browser to encrypt data sent from a payment page aren't good signs.

  13. #11
    Munster Praetorian Guard Beckinder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for all your advice, I had a feeling it was dodgy but hoped I was wrong. Looks like I wont be getting a Mulberry for christmas
    "Why am I so rubbish at life?" Quote from a Saints fan in Shannon Airport 11/04/2010

    Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of the day...Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life :-)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •